Bills, Bills, Bills

I just paid most of my monthly bills for July. Last in the pack was the bill I dread most. It was a medical bill that I had paid down to a manageable amount … until this month. It nearly doubled. In one day. This particular bill is for allergy treatment, and it is just one of many expenses I have incurred in order to treat medical problems. Allergy coverage is pretty much non-existent on my health insurance policy, as it is considered a luxury. I mean, who needs to breathe, right? So, it’s expensive. The online bill pay option had a notes section, so I filled it in as follows:

This bill has broken my spirit. Just letting you know.

I’m sure someone will actually read that and be moved to tears.

I was fortunate enough to pay off my student loan debt and a bill from an emergency room visit at a different hospital for anaphylaxis this year ( as earlier stated, breathing is a luxury, so this was also quite expensive), so I am sure I will find a way to handle it. But I still believe medical debt is among the most degrading possessions a person can own. My body doesn’t work correctly, so I have been penalized by people who want to be paid for doing their jobs — seems reasonable enough. The problems for me are that this debt is something I consider a necessity, it is in addition to treatment for a chronic autoimmune disease, and my allergy treatment will last a total of no less than five years. I am just over one year into it. I can’t wait to take a peek at the next bill. Really.

Leave a comment